I know, I skipped day twenty one. That's because it was a big ol' day of me doing the things I do wherever I live - gym, shopping at Macy's (with my out-of-towner discount from the 1 1/2 floor), jogging. You'd be bored.
Today was also shaping up to be a boring day for you to read about, but it started off well at least. My NY friend who got a little crazy the other day called and apologized (see? there is hope) and it was a very compelling apology. I appreciated it.
The rest of the morning was to be spent in the condo waiting for a UPS shipment which required a signature. It was scheduled for the morning, I called and they said actually it could arrive anytime before 7pm. Trapped; my facebook friends have never seen so much of me. Around 6:30pm, I put on my gym clothes and got very excited that it was almost time to receive my package and leave the house. No such luck. 7:15, I called again. This was our actual conversation:
"Hi, I'm checking on my package, it was supposed to arrive today by seven pm. Tracking number ...."
"Yes, that package IS scheduled to arrive today. It left our office this morning."
"Well what time? I thought seven pm was the latest?"
(monotone) "Yes, ma'am, that package could arrive anytime before seven pm."
"Um... ... ... So what's the ACTUAL latest it could arrive?"
"Seven pm."
"I don't understand the answer. What is the latest time it could get here?"
"You don't have to worry, that package will be delivered today. And if it isn't, you can call our offices in the morning."
"Wait! Ma'am! It's seven FIFTEEN right now. I've been sitting here waiting all day!"
(still monotone) "Well it could arrive anytime before nine pm."
"Wait, what, I thought you said seven was the latest."
"Yes ma'am anytime before seven pm."
"But not really?"
"The latest it could arrive is nine pm."
ok. The gym closes at 10, and they make you leave the gym floor and go shower at 9:30. The night began to look as hopeless as the pursuit of getting information from a UPS operator. I made a backup plan to go to yoga on the upper west side at 9:45pm, just because it was available. UPS showed at 8:30ish and then I ran up the street and hopped on a subway to the gym.
Afterward, I went to the Monday night "Broadway Cast Party" over at Birdland. (http://www.castpartynyc.com/) It's one of those open mic nights where you never know what you're gonna get, because anyone can sign up to perform (they sign in at 9:30 for the 10 o'clock show) and it costs $10 to either sing or just watch. The promise of it all is that since Monday night is Broadway's "dark" night, there's a good chance that you'll get some B-way performers up on stage on their night off. I had no intention of performing (I'm actually starting to feel really rusty - I can't sing in the apartment and I won't pay for a practice room). But I got there and the first performer to sing was Sarah Rice, the original Joanna in Sweeney Todd. Awesome. Then some nobodies. At some point a little girl who is starring in Billy Elliot sang a song. Then, the most amazing thing - a teenage jazz violinist! I've never seen a jazz violinist. I've actually never seen a violinist this good at any style of music. YOU MUST listen to this kid- he's fifteen! I can't get enough of this. I found a recording of him from last year, when he was just a child :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8PZVSTCABg (skip about 30 seconds in) - I'm such a fan.
Oh yeah, I almost forgot to mention that all of this happened while I was sitting across from ELAINE PAIGE. I'm such a dork for the celebrities that make me happy. Like, meeting Christopher Seiber was my favorite thing, and could probably only be topped by Craig Bierko or Seth Rudetsky. OKOK I'm not that different from you. I'd also like to meet Hugh Jackman. There, we can have that in common now.
Also, I got to have my chicken meal from that famous halal truck. eh, it was alright. definitely better than most food I've had grilled on a street corner. (which is actually a lot, considering the number of USC tailgates I've been to)
I have to say, as easy as it has been over the past year to pack and find a new place to be, I find myself getting sadder and sadder when I have to leave. Leaving NYC just after finally getting settled in is tragic. Maybe one day I'll get to come back.
No comments:
Post a Comment