Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Day Sixteen- I really blew it

Today started off ok- didn't really sleep last night, no idea why.  Went to the gym anyway.  Came home and cooked because Luis was driving up from Philly to see the Broadway play with me.

OK.  I'm going to admit right now that maybe I'm a little too comfortable here in my "figure things out as I go" place.  I got a text on Saturday while Luis and I were driving in DC that read "2 tix for Tuesday night, bring your ID."  My friend had told me way ahead of time that she was going to try to get me tickets for Lend Me a Tenor.  Getting that text meant that she was able to do it, I was sooo excited.

So Luis came up around 6:30 and we ate and then we headed to midtown around 7:15.  I knew we were cutting it close, but I  remembered where the theatre was- I had seen it across the street during intermission of Rock of Ages on 47th Street.  So I didn't bother looking it up, I've been in midtown a million times so far.  7:45pm, we get off the subway and hustle up from 42nd Street.  We get to 47th, and an entirely different show is playing across from Rock of Ages.  Crap.  I didn't see it during the intermission of Rock of Ages, I saw it during the intermission of Next to Normal, which is on 45th.  7:55pm, and I'm feeling slightly worried that they won't hold these seats for us.  So we sped over to 45th street and found the theatre, which was EXTREMELY quiet for 1 minute before curtain...These are really good audience members, I thought, not a one of them pushing the deadline...But, whatever, WE MADE IT!

I thought.

So there's this thing I haven't encountered yet, which is the Tuesday night EARLY show.  It's at 7pm instead of the usual 8.  At every theatre.  All the time.  Everyone, apparently, knows this.  Except dumb me, who didn't bother to look it up because I knew where Broadway was.  We were an hour late, and it's a complicated show, so we opted not to walk in halfway through.  The guy in the box office said we could use the seats another night, thank goodness, so I kept them and I have to call at 11am on another day.

then, to add insult to injury, I made the mistake of opening the envelope.  The seats were in row ZERO.  (That's one row closer than ROW 1) They were amazing.  I felt like such an ass.  My friend worked hard to call in a favor for me.  My other friend drove and paid tolls and tolls to get up here on the hottest day of the year. I haven't felt such regret for making a bad choice in a very long time.

Luckily, Luis has more friends in town than I do, and we ended up meeting up with one of his actor friends after his Broadway show, and then another with her boyfriend (whom I've seen on tour several times) later.  Small world.  The funny thing is that both guys had been doing their respective shows for years and were clearly ready for another opportunity. Both had had big auditions today, and both were worried about the results. Which I get.  But it's crazy to me that it's such a struggle, even for them, to get the next job that they actually want.  I can't even come close to imagining being bored of the Broadway show I'm in.  But the credits are nice, and they certainly do help them get the next job over someone else, so it's not as bad as they think (imagine being, say, ME.  I did a show at Cerritos College!)

It's 4am.  Again. I must need sleep sometime.   I think this trip is becoming "vacation" and not so much "work."  Trap?

No comments:

Post a Comment