Well I spent most of my last day in NYC shooting and running errands. We were going to go new my new friend over at Jersey Boys, but they don't offer any discounts at all for that show, so we ended up getting seats for Promises,Promises with Kristin Chenoweth and Sean Hayes (Jack from Will and Grace). Went to John's Pizzeria before the show because we get priority seating there. Kim's Aussie friend was supposed to meet us in Times Square for dinner, but she was really late. When we called her, she said "I'm in Little Italy, I thought we were going to get pizza." I guess we had some miscommunication in the course of subway-inteferenced-text messages. She made it up and we got into the theatre right before curtain.
Promises, Promises (a musical based on the awesome movie "The Apartment") has a FANTASTIC BOOK AND HORRIBLE MUSIC (with a couple of exceptions). I wished it were a straight play. or a movie (oh, wait-). Sean Hayes did really well with the comedy, of course, it was delightful, not so much with the singing. Kristin Chenoweth looks older than Elaine Stritch onstage and somebody needs to please feed her a sandwich. They tried to cast the other secretaries to look a little older (in the script, however, they refer to the secretaries as being early twenties) to offset this (which is good, it means there could still be chorus work for me someday as the stars keep aging). You know, maybe they should switch Bernadette (who looks way too young for Desiree Armfelt in Night Music) and Kristin in their respective shows. That could work maybe.
It's a little retarded to me that people go see shows just because there are celebrities in them, especially musicals, because I have found time and again that watching these shows is like attending the school play at the High School for celebrities. They give the leads to the biggest celebs (in school it would be the seniors) regardless of whether they can actually sing or act at all and regardless of whether they are even right for the show. And with the exception of that Constantine kid from American Idol, they all blow. For my money, I'd like to see people who are actually GOOD AT MUSICALS!
The highlight of the evening (I sound like a critic now) was at the beginning of act two (yes I made it past intermission through this one, mostly because of my company) when we were introduced to Katie Finneran as drunk Marge McDougall. OMG she has to be the funniest actress I've ever seen ever. Won the Tony for this little part, too. Man, the show's value owes a lot to this woman, she is BRILLIANT.
No comments:
Post a Comment