Today, I had my first chorus call. Since I had pre-signed up for the female vocalist call, I got to show up at 9:30 for a 10 o'clock audition (so much better than the 7am for EPAs). So basically, there's a list at the Equity office that goes up one week before the audition and comes down at 5pm the night before. Everybody signs up. Everybody. I was #184 on the list, and that was four days (and hundreds of names) ago. So I get to Nola studios (which is right next door to my current gym) about 45 minutes before 10 and it doesn't look like 300 girls. It looks more like 60, really. At 9:30, Douglas, the monitor, starts reading names aloud, in order, at lightning speed. I had no idea why. Then after about 30 names in 20 seconds, someone shouts "Yes!" He was taking roll! (and assigning audition numbers - that girl was number 1) All those previous names called were girls that signed up or had their friend sign them up and then didn't show. So, I learned something- there is no penalty for a no-show in New York (unlike CA), so sign up for everything! Heck, I'll probably start signing up for the dance calls just in case one day I find myself in shape enough to participate.
The audition was "whatever," it wasn't a show I was excited about and I was really cranky this morning for some reason. Robert Cuccioli was in the audition room, so that was cool, and he was really nice. Pianist, again, was great (2 for 2!) And the entire audition panel was SO friendly to me, which somehow made me even crankier. I sang my song with such attitude (which works for the character, really) and got the heck out. Something about fake-smile chorus girls in rollers and tights first thing in the morning is not my cup of tea.
Somehow, by 2pm at the next chorus call, those same exact girls made me really happy.
This was the "A Little Night Music" audition, and I was in a great mood, smiling and chatting and really enjoying it. I think it has something to do with the legitimacy of the audition- if you're going to put yourself through this lifestyle, it helps if the job seems worth it. Sang the same song, but it was much more charming this time, I'm sure. Went well, had a couple of really great notes that made both people look back up at me from my resume, which is always good. Accompanist saw my music and sang my song at me in a Pee-wee Herman voice, which was very funny. I said I'd be doing it just like that. He also asked, "Mind if I don't double you on the melody? It's so boring." I try never to argue with the accompanist, especially if he has the decency to ask- it made me trust him. I said "sure." He was great (3/3).
Another thing: in New York, it is REQUIRED that somebody from the actual production staff of the show is in your audition, not just a lone casting director. Not true in LA, where you get stuck with a casting person who is texting or eating during your song and not even really watching. But having someone there who actually PAYS for the casting director's time makes the casting director ACTUALLY PAY ATTENTION. It's so smart. I love it. this morning I had the entire production staff and this afternoon the Choral Director. Brilliant.
Oh yeah, get this: after the first audition, I went to Times Square where I lost my phone last night and FOUND MY PHONE. Thank you, Lord.
After auditions, went to Macy's in Herald Square to shop (the strap on my sling bag is ripping from all the crap I have to tote around all day. Currently stuffed in my little bag is a 3" binder of music, character heels, pumps, flip-flops, two tupperwares, a wallet, two dresses and two different bras, a water bottle, my gym clothes, pepper spray, an umbrella, a hairbrush, and many shades of lipstick.) I will never find a bag with a strap that can handle all my stuff without ripping. I'm freaking Mary Poppins.
Going to the theatre tonight- "Next to Normal" is a show I've been wanting to see, they had really cheap seats on TDF. Hope I stay awake.
LOL with Mary Poppins. You are very lucky to find your phone. If you don't stay awake, it is probably not that good.
ReplyDeleteHow are you ever gonna pull out that pepper spray in a dangerous situation with all that crap in your bag? Then again, the character heels and pumps might do the job... ;-)
ReplyDelete