Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Day Nine - The Odyssey

I was thinking how bipolar I would seem if there were a camera on every bus and train that could capture my expressions as I board.  You never know what emotion you're gonna get.

Today I had to do some business stuff, finding a photo lab and dealing with SAG out here.  NYC is 100% the opposite of LA in every way.  As much as I have been blown away by the greatness of the Actor's Equity office here, the SAG office is congruently retarded.  It started off to be promising, Madison Avenue address;  the security guard in the lobby had to see my union ID to give me a fancy scan-card to activate the elevator to access the SAG floor.

I had to meet with three different people at SAG, and they all shared two similar traits: #1-complete incompetence, and, #2-utter shock that someone needed to speak with them in the first place.  After ten minutes of this one woman fumbling around her desk to try to help me, she decided to write down the phone number for her LA counterpart (sigh).  BUT SHE COULDN'T FIND SOMETHING TO WRITE ON.  She opened every drawer in her desk, and as she was digging through one of them, I finally said, "Nevermind the phone number, can I have one of those envelopes?" (I'm low of office supplies and I need to write and thank that agent from last night.  This beat having to go to the office supply store.)

On my way out I rode the elevator down with a guy in a mismatched outfit who was, upon examination, somewhat special.  He, of course, needed to talk to me during the ride.  "Can I ask you something?"  (Yes, you just did, have a nice day.)
"Sure."
"What's the deal with being SAG?  I'm AFTRA but so many of the union calls require both." (How did he get in the building?) At this point, I realize he must a professional "extra"  (you can have a prison record and do that job, btw.  The extras always wonder why they are treated so badly by production- newsflash, it's because your colleagues are from PRISON).
Everyone knows that you have to EARN your way into SAG but anyone can just PAY their way into AFTRA.  The SAG extras are snobs because of this, they are "ACTORS."

"Because the casting agency can't hire you as "union" if you can't work ALL the union gigs."
"Oh.  How did you get into SAG?"
"By working."
"Oh.....   .....    ...."
"Have a nice day."

Apparently, I'm working on my own version of Homer's "The Odyssey."  Here's my travel log for this afternoon's errands, not including the 7,000 steps I logged:
M5 bus
1 train
M1 bus
M4 bus
M3 bus
42 bus
M7 bus
M4 bus

Monday, June 28, 2010

Day Eight- Love and Hate

Subway still screwed up, had to pay for a cab at 4am to my destination of camping out in front of the Equity office for the coveted "agency auditions."  It's brilliant, every two weeks or so, talent agents from up to three  NY agencies come to the Equity office and actually watch new talent deliver their monologues (In LA, unless you have a friend recommend you to the agents, you can't even say hello to them).   I read somewhere online that they can only take the first 54 actors for the audition, and that even though the sign-in is at 8:30am, the line would be over-filled by 4:30.  So I brought a pillow and my clothes for the three subsequent chorus calls and parked myself on the sidewalk, first in line.  ....crickets....(actually, small rats and big bugs)...nobody else even came till 5am.  Found out that this was because only one agent (Atlas- a mostly commercial agency) was coming to the audition and the actors thought it was a waste of time. Can I just take a moment to point out how RIDICULOUS that is?  Auditioning for three agents might be a time-effective way to NOT get an agent, but how in the world can you have ANY sort of conversation that resembles a traditional "agent meeting" when there are two other agents sitting there watching?  Impossible.

Anyhow, met an awesome veteran actor in the line, we chatted for the entire 3.5 hours (no sleeping, but it's for the best, who would protect me from the rats??)  Signed in, got a 7:20pm appt, and dragged myself into the AEA dressing room for a complete makeover from homeless lady to glamorous actress from the fifties (my first ECC of the day was for Sunset Blvd.)  

Chorus call sucked, I was wayyy too tired and didn't leave time to warm-up. And they were asking for a song in the style of the show (what exactly IS the style of "Sunset Blvd.," besides strange?). Anyhow, it ended and I was too late to make it to any other call. Took forever to get home and it was the hottest day and I had soooo much heavy luggage to tote around.  By the time I neared the apartment, I had my first moment of "Wish I were in California." (I surprise myself;  I imagine me as the type who would have had that moment way sooner- like sometime on the sidewalk with the rat.)

I think my favorite part of today  began when the Equity monitor at the Agency Audition said, "Remember folks, louder and bigger does not mean BETTER," followed by "You know, you don't HAVE to do a Classical monologue if you don't want to."    Never in LA would you hear those words- we think a classical monolgoue means something from a movie before 1983.

Here's the part where you're maybe wanting to ask me, "So, how did it go?"

This is one of those questions that actors get from non-industry friends and family.  The question has two possible meanings:

#1 "Did you get the job?"  -this is the most common meaning of said question- Folks, the answer to that question is always going to be "I have no idea.  Most likely, no." (Or else I would have started this conversation with "GUESS WHAT, I BOOKED A JOB!!!!!"  I promise, I'm never going to withhold that information from you.)

or

#2 "Did you do your best and did you enjoy the experience?"  That's the question I will always answer when people ask me how it went.

Sorry for the sidetrack, but I'm glad to get that off my chest.

Anyway, the answer to question #2  is that it went AMAZINGLY WELL.  I'm very grateful for the opportunity to have met this agent, he's a very enjoyable person,  and for the incredible amount of interest he had in chatting and getting to know me (see?  I told you!  You could never do this with those other guys sitting there.)  My monologue went sooo well, but that was only like 1/10th of the experience.  I take back my grumpiness from this morning in wanting to go back to LA.  The day was totally made worth it.

Day Seven- Sunday!

Dear NYC Bus,
Let me express my gratitude for your wonderful qualities- your windows, your plentiful cushioned seats, your frequent stops, your cellphone reception, your air conditioners.  You really have it all.  I'm sorry for getting so mad at you for not warning me that I'd be trapped aboard for over an hour while you waited for the gay pride parade to pass by on 5th Avenue.  I should have been grateful to have an air-conditioned front row seat and a quiet place to carry on with my phonecall.
Love,
Marcy


p.s. Please don't be mad at me for ditching you on the way back. I guess I got carried away by the luxury of getting to ride in Luis's car;  I felt like royalty to be in a private vehicle once again.  I still love you, but he DID drive all the way up from Philadelphia. I promise to try not to be too spoiled by the whole experience.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Day Six - Rats

Been having mild stomach issues, decided to use my day off to get it checked out. Couldn't get an appointment with a general practicioner in NYC till August (after I leave) so I had to go to an Urgent Care walk-in facility.

Got off on the wrong subway exit (schedules are all screwed up this weekend), walked twenty blocks, then learned how to use the bus! I graduated from the subway to the bus! I love the bus!

While I was waiting to get on the bus for the first time, I felt a brief moment of anxiety that accompanies doing something new - I was actually nervous for a second that I wouldn't know how to pay for the bus and look like a jackass or a tourist (hello!) or something. It was the most retarded thing to worry about. (And no, I never rode the bus in LA; I tried once, but it passed me by. Jerks.) Anyway, I know a lot of people who have this kind of anxiety about doing new things from the second they start thinking about them; for me, I don't get it until the very last second, way after I've made the decision to go ahead and do the thing. I feel blessed by this freedom, and I have a hard time relating to my friends who don't have it.

Anyway, six hours waiting in the Urgent Care, (which ended up being the ER, stupid NY hospitals), then: released with the advice to go see a general practitioner when I can.

Ugh.

Saw my first NYC rat on the subway tracks. I don't do rats or possums. Mice, yes, rats, no. But this rat was not huge or gross, watching it actually sort of made me wish that I had a pet here in NYC. BTW, how is it that they don't get electrocuted on those tracks? And also, BTW, I think I enjoy watching subway rats more than caged animals in zoos.

Got to walk through some of Central Park. Seems pretty great. Also got to spend time on the Upper East side, I really like it; the way people live here sort of reminds me of dorms and college life.

Tim Keller tomorrow. Finally.

Friday, June 25, 2010

Day Five - A Chorus Line

Today, I had my first chorus call. Since I had pre-signed up for the female vocalist call, I got to show up at 9:30 for a 10 o'clock audition (so much better than the 7am for EPAs). So basically, there's a list at the Equity office that goes up one week before the audition and comes down at 5pm the night before. Everybody signs up. Everybody. I was #184 on the list, and that was four days (and hundreds of names) ago. So I get to Nola studios (which is right next door to my current gym) about 45 minutes before 10 and it doesn't look like 300 girls. It looks more like 60, really. At 9:30, Douglas, the monitor, starts reading names aloud, in order, at lightning speed. I had no idea why. Then after about 30 names in 20 seconds, someone shouts "Yes!" He was taking roll! (and assigning audition numbers - that girl was number 1) All those previous names called were girls that signed up or had their friend sign them up and then didn't show. So, I learned something- there is no penalty for a no-show in New York (unlike CA), so sign up for everything! Heck, I'll probably start signing up for the dance calls just in case one day I find myself in shape enough to participate.

The audition was "whatever," it wasn't a show I was excited about and I was really cranky this morning for some reason. Robert Cuccioli was in the audition room, so that was cool, and he was really nice. Pianist, again, was great (2 for 2!) And the entire audition panel was SO friendly to me, which somehow made me even crankier. I sang my song with such attitude (which works for the character, really) and got the heck out. Something about fake-smile chorus girls in rollers and tights first thing in the morning is not my cup of tea.

Somehow, by 2pm at the next chorus call, those same exact girls made me really happy.
This was the "A Little Night Music" audition, and I was in a great mood, smiling and chatting and really enjoying it. I think it has something to do with the legitimacy of the audition- if you're going to put yourself through this lifestyle, it helps if the job seems worth it. Sang the same song, but it was much more charming this time, I'm sure. Went well, had a couple of really great notes that made both people look back up at me from my resume, which is always good. Accompanist saw my music and sang my song at me in a Pee-wee Herman voice, which was very funny. I said I'd be doing it just like that. He also asked, "Mind if I don't double you on the melody? It's so boring." I try never to argue with the accompanist, especially if he has the decency to ask- it made me trust him. I said "sure." He was great (3/3).

Another thing: in New York, it is REQUIRED that somebody from the actual production staff of the show is in your audition, not just a lone casting director. Not true in LA, where you get stuck with a casting person who is texting or eating during your song and not even really watching. But having someone there who actually PAYS for the casting director's time makes the casting director ACTUALLY PAY ATTENTION. It's so smart. I love it. this morning I had the entire production staff and this afternoon the Choral Director. Brilliant.

Oh yeah, get this: after the first audition, I went to Times Square where I lost my phone last night and FOUND MY PHONE. Thank you, Lord.

After auditions, went to Macy's in Herald Square to shop (the strap on my sling bag is ripping from all the crap I have to tote around all day. Currently stuffed in my little bag is a 3" binder of music, character heels, pumps, flip-flops, two tupperwares, a wallet, two dresses and two different bras, a water bottle, my gym clothes, pepper spray, an umbrella, a hairbrush, and many shades of lipstick.) I will never find a bag with a strap that can handle all my stuff without ripping. I'm freaking Mary Poppins.

Going to the theatre tonight- "Next to Normal" is a show I've been wanting to see, they had really cheap seats on TDF. Hope I stay awake.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Day Four- Thunder and Lightning

It rained in my shower. I mean it rained, and the bathroom window in the shower was open. Lucky placement of window.

Today was kind of a day off to organize; I realized that I can't possibly make it to all the auditions that I'm right for - for example tomorrow morning at 9 I have to be at the ECC sign in at one rehearsal studio, while everyone else in town is waiting in the 2 hour EPA line at another studio. And I have to do it again at 2pm for another ECC.

This all makes me realize that auditioning will not work well in this town without an agent, who can actually book EPA appointments in advance for me (I think). So this weekend I will gather my 8x10's and envelopes and start submitting. Pain in the a--, doubled by the fact that I don't KNOW any of the agencies in town, so I don't even know who will work well for me. We'll see.

Dinner tonight was with Brighter Side again, I brought a sandwich to Chipotle. The best thing about NYC is that the calories are written up on the menu board. So when the Texas-lady-tour-guide tells me "Chipotle is really healthy," I can nod and agree, but only while thinking,"Yeah, compared to a bucket of mayo."

They are seeing Addams family right now, I couldn't get a cheap seat and NO show (with the exception of "O" at the Bellagio) is worth over a hundred bucks. (Until I'm in one, I think)

Gotta go update the website, agents will be looking soon (I hope)...

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Day Three- Auditioning!

Had my first audition this morning- showed up at 7am for a 9:30 call...when I got off the subway, I was afraid that I would be TOO early and look like a newbie. Made a left on 46th street and saw the line of actors in their gym clothes, pj's, etc, waiting to make an appointment. You wait on the street in the morning until 1/2 an hour before the sign-in, which is an hour before the call. So I had to make friends with the person next to me (well as much of a friend as you can make with a BRUIN. Wait, a JEWISH Bruin, who looked over my shoulder while I was reading Leviticus on the sidewalk and said "Heavy." Which is true, so I asked if he had read it, and he replied, "No- and I never want to." ::sigh::)

Signed in at 8:30am, asked for an appointment at 10:10, so I'd have time to eat and warmup (on the steps of the office building next door- they must just LOVE us.)

Really enjoyed the staff on this audition, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Michael Cassara, CSA, is just plain wonderful. I'm very grateful for his kindness and excitement for me. My pianist, Michael Hitch, also ROCKED! (in LA, you never really know what you're gonna get- it could be your song, or it could be a "version" of your song) He took my music and said, "I did this show in high school!" and he was so wonderfully present with me the whole way through.

So that ended, and I remembered that my favorite show on XM Broadway records live in Times Square on Wednesdays. So I went and got a seat for the broadcast, and as I'm waiting, Christopher Sieber shows up! (I'm a really, really big fan). Right before the show, someone from the staff came up and asked if I wanted to be on the "Showtune Showdown" - heck yeah, musicals and gameshows are like my two favorite things. I totally won. And I got to talk to Mr. Sieber for a minute, which was awesome, I love meeting people who I'm a fan of and realizing how much we theatre people are all alike (similar experience with Matthew Morrison two weeks ago at GLEE, but it always makes me happy). Hopefully I'll get to hear the re-broadcast on Sirius this week.

Tonight I met up with the Brighter Side Singers again in Times Square- NYC has these "street pianos" setup around town, and anyone can just walk up and play (www.streetpianos.com/nyc2010/). I played the piano while one of my favorite students sang a song, right in the middle of Times Square. Then the whole group sang three of their big numbers, and drew a crowd of hundreds of people! (I told them to tell everyone they had sung on Broadway)

Must gym tomorrow. Might get to see Addams Family with the Brighter Side, we'll see...

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Day Two - getting around

You can spot me on the streets of NYC as a non-native because of my pace- in LA, nobody walks fast. I usually start off walking quickly here, then get lost in my ADD and realize that I'm strolling, and there are 12 blocks to go, and it's hot!

This morning I went to the Actor's Equity office to change my stage name back to Brooks (from Stewart"). It's really awesome to choose your stage name, you could be ANYTHING; I've been tossing around ideas for more catchy stage names (maybe with alliteration), so "Brooks" is a temporary plan (because I already have the website marcybrooks.com)

(Professional auditioning in NYC is not like California; in L.A., I go down to Equity once a week and get an appointment time for every audition I'm interested in and then show up 15 minutes before the appt.; in NYC, you can only pre-sign-up for chorus auditions. And even then, you still have to show up first thing in the morning to get your appointment time. Principal roles are even worse, they make you come an hour (read: 2 1/2 hours) before the first audition slot to wait in a line and sign up for the day.
I'm not sure how to maneuver when there's more than one audition in a day that aren't in the same place, we'll see on June 30 when I have 2 back-to-back calls...)

Looking at the auditions, I'm really glad that I spent some time before I left working with my coach on monologues; I'll actually get to use them here!!!

After Equity, I walked up to the Kaufman Center by Lincoln Center- they rent piano practice rooms for $7.50 per half hour. Not a bad deal, considering the guy gave me almost an hour at that price. Stopped at Kinko's on the way, met a TV producer from DC. We chatted while I cut up headshots and resumes and he looked at my resume and said "Brooks- that's a great name for an actress." Awesome.

Then I found Gold's Gym in midtown and signed up for a (locals only) free week pass. Herb in member services was really nice when I told him I didn't have a local ID. Lots of performers there, and lots of free dance classes on the schedule. hooray!

Oh yeah, this is very important- I went to a supermarket and bought YELLOW MUSTARD. New Yorkers don't know what this is, so I was very very happy to find it.

I'm (finally) home for the afternoon to cook, then head off to meet the Brighter Side Singers from Temple City High School for dinner. I wanted to see a show tonight, but I have to get up so early to stand in line for my audition, so no-go. Theatre Development Fund (for professionals) is where I'm getting all my tix, BTW, they are like a quarter of the price, and if you sign up online as an out-of-towner, it's only $12 for the annual membership.

It's 5pm, I've taken 6,888 steps so far. Less than I thought. Better go get on it.

Monday, June 21, 2010

Day One

Woke up at 4am to pack. Duke drove me to LGB at 6:30am. Jetblue doesn't have wi-fi.

Redeemer Presbyterian has this awesome acting fellowship through their work&faith program. I had planned to arive at JFK at 4:30pm, go pick up my keys on the upper west side, drop of my (very heavy) luggage in morningside heights, and maneuver the subway system to get myself to the "monologue showcase" at 13th Street Rep. by 7:30pm. Fail. The airport shuttle took two and a half hours.

I got to my apartment at 7:30pm- it is awesome and a GREAT deal. It's two full bedrooms and very cute; but it is located on the outskirts of Harlem, across from Central Park. I'm definitely a minority here for my two block walk to the subway.

Since I had no hope of getting to the theatre in time, I did what any girl who has been living in the OC for too long would do - I put on a sundress, bypassed the local markets, and took a half hour subway ride just to get to Starbucks and Trader Joe's. Checking out at TJs takes over half an hour that late at night, but they stayed open past ten, so that was cool. I made "friends" with a checker named Vincent, he was really nice but I could tell by his interest in conversing that he makes a significant contribution to the line taking so long-- I must have stood there for 15 minutes while he bagged my 20 items and told me all about his own experiences in California (he hates it) and acting (his friends all tell him they wish they could burn their union cards so they can work again- wow, NY and CA ARE THE SAME PLACE!).

Late night subway ride home- sat next to 3 novice actors who were just leaving an acting class. Had to listen to them ramble about how acting is such an abstract artform, blah blah blah, and how no one can really TEACH you to act. And I thought it was really funny that they met in an acting class. I was hoping they'd drop the name of the studio where nobody is teaching them to act so I can avoid it like the plague.

Goals for tomorrow- go to AEA and choose a new stage name; find a piano practice room to laydown rehearsal tracks of my audition songs; get ready for my first(!) broadway audition on Wednesday...eeek!!!!

If there's time, I'm meeting up with the GLEEclub from my school for dinner- they are here on tour.

It's going to rain tomorrow.